A ThumbSnail is Born

I got a chance to play a video game called “Dust: An Elysian Tail,” and I really enjoyed it. I enjoyed it so much that I looked up some information on it and realized that one guy basically made the entire game. The design, the story, the art, the coding, the etcetera. ONE GUY. My mind was blown.

Back in the days of my youth, when I had to walk uphill both ways in order to plug my 56k modem into the wall to get internet, I really wanted to make my own game. And I remember trying, but the tools just didn’t exist back then to assist someone like me in creating a game. Or maybe they did, and I just didn’t know how to use Google. Or maybe Google didn’t even exist. I can’t remember.

But now, after Dust, I was inspired. Armed with almost no programming knowledge and no artistic talent, I set out on a quest to see if I could create a high-quality, professional-looking game that I could be proud of. I also set a goal of spending exactly zero money. Why? Because most creative endeavors make exactly zero money. I also didn’t know if I would even like doing this.

So I learned some C++ and discovered that Cocos2d-x could work on my ancient laptop.

So I found Inkscape and learned that I could tell it to turn my stick figures into rounded stick figures.

And as I worked and worked, I realized how much fun it was to code and to develop a game. And after a while, I began to think I actually had a pretty cool game. And after a long while, I thought this game could actually be released into the world. And thus ThumbSnail Studios was born.

However, to release it into the world, my one rule had to be broken. I’m not going to lie. I seriously considered walking away because of developer fees. But… I… really… wanted… to play my own game on my iPad. <Buries face in hands and sobs uncontrollably>

So I have a new quest. My new quest is to break even AND to have enough left over for a Safeway Select Chicken Bacon Alfredo Pizza.

Seriously, it’s really tasty:

Safeway Select Chicken Bacon Alfredo Pizza

Leave a comment

Filed under Game Development

Leave a Reply

